Verein der Freunde der Scuola di Musica di Fiesole in der Schweiz – Logo

Verein der Freunde der Scuola di Musica di Fiesole in der Schweiz


The Scuola di Musica di Fiesole

was founded by Piero Farulli, viola player of the legendary „Quartetto Italiano“ in 1974. He created his school with the innermost conviction, that music has an existential significance for the society and has to be accessible to everybody. The guiding principals are referring to the ideals of chamber musical interactivity and the transmission of these experiences.

Many outstanding artists have taken part in the past and have left deeply valuable traces, such as Luigi Nono, Claudio Abbado, Carlo Maria Giulini, Maurizio Pollini, Ricardo Muti, György Kurtág, Maria Tipo, Daniele Gatti, Salvatore Accardo, a.o. The Scuola became a unique example for musical practise and didactics in Italy.

At the time being, 1300 young musicians study at the Scuola. Together with other European Music Academies, the Scuola di Musica di Fiesole is a founding member of the European Chamber Music Academy (ECMA) with Antonello Farulli as director. The cellist Alain Meunier became the artistic director of the Scuola in autumn 2016. He followed the pianist Andrea Lucchesini, who held this position since 2008.

The Italian Ministry of culture, the region of Tuscany, the province and town of Florence and various private sponsors support the Scuola. Claudio Abbado sponsored the Scuola very generously with a donation, which he received by the Italian Government, after his nomination as honorary senator.